October 13 Arena Warrior: aka “We don’t need no armor”

I’ve meticulously tracked my Hearthstone Arena Runs using Heartharena since December 20, 2014. Over 167 arena runs, I have played Warrior twice. Both runs only got 1 win. An even better fact, both wins I got were against other Arena Warriors! I’m sure I had a Warrior run attain more than 1 run in the year before I started tracking, but who knows. The facts are that I have no idea what I’m doing when I’m playing Warrior. The most glory I have from playing Warrior is with Patron Warrior (RIP).

With that said, I decided to tank an arena run and play Warrior.

Draft

  1. Defender of Argus (69), Coliseum Manager (64), Mana Wraith (30) – Easy pick here, though Coliseum Manager is solid for Warrior arenas.
  2. Drakonid Crusher (67), Unstable Ghoul (44), Grimscale Oracle (8) – The Crusher is easily the best pick over some lackluster cards.
  3. Gilblin Stalker (66), Stonesplinter Trogg (57), River Crocolisk (53) – A rare pick of 3 2/3 2-drops! Obviously the Crocolisk is out since there is no beast synergy here. I like Gilblin Stalker more because the stealth prevents it from being targeted, and helps serve the role of establishing an early board.
  4. Heroic Strike (53), Mukla’s Champion (44), Whirlwind (45) – Not a slam dunk pick here, but I picked Heroic Strike for a decent clear. Mukla’s Champion is a win-more card that is better to pick later in the draft once it’s established a draft has more cheap minions.
  5. Death’s Bite (79), Captured Jormungar (58), Spellbreaker (67) – Death’s Bite is a good weapon to have that helps with board clear and triggering some enrage minions.
  6. Chillwind Yeti (69), Gilblin Stalker (66), Axe Flinger (39) – Can never go bad with a Yeti. A second Gilblin is not a bad choice if I sold out to go fast for the whole draft.
  7. Fiery War Axe (91), Lost Tallstrider (53), Undertaker (26) – It’s called Fiery Win Axe for a reason.
  8. Southsea Deckhand (54), Gnomish Inventor (59), Inner Rage (49) – I have 2 weapons drafted in the first 7, which brings me to this pick. Even with no weapon, the Southsea Deckhand is a fine Turn 1 play to trigger a coin.
  9. Frothing Berserker (107), Coliseum Manager (74), Grim Patron (47) – 2 of these are components of the Patron Warrior (RIP). Anyhow, Death’s Bite has insane synergy to grow a Berserker.
  10. King’s Defender (87), Sparring Partner (70), Questing Adventurer (62) – Don’t mind if I do with a third weapon. Plus, there is some taunt synergy.
  11. Boneguard Lieutenant (64), Clockwork Gnome (54), Shield Block (40) – We don’t need no armor. Either of these minions are fine, picking the 2-drop here.
  12. Knife Juggler (90), Master Swordsmith (22), Injured Blademaster (63) – Can’t pass on a premium card like Knife Juggler. Also, I’m not a real big fan of Injured Blademaster.
  13. Arathi Weaponsmith (84), Frigid Snobold (46), Bolster (9) – Arathi Weaponsmith is too good to pass up. It looks like I’m getting a 4th weapon for this draft.
  14. Argent Horserider (73), Evil Heckler (68), Battle Rage (68) – These are all cards I would want to pick in the draft, can’t really go wrong with any of them. Argent Horserider is the best value.
  15. Drakonid Crusher (62), Nerbu’ar Weblord (51), Shield Block (40) – Going with the second Crusher for more beef. We don’t need no armor.
  16. Death’s Bite (66), Explosive Sheep (38), War Golem (44) – I am forced to pick my 5th weapon by Pick 16. I am strapped and have no armor cards.
  17. Silver Hand Knight (68), Bolster (5), Arathi Weaponsmith (59) – Ok, no more weapons. Don’t have any 5-drop minions so I really need the Silver Hand Knight here.
  18. Charge (43), Reckless Rocketeer (45), Mogu’shan Warden (42) – Charge is a card nobody expects. Better yet, I have 2 Drakonids which could charge for 9 or 11 damage. Win condition found!
  19. Frostwolf Warlord (61), Priestess of Elune (29), Gnomish Inventor (56) – It looks like I passed on card draw yet again for a mediocre biggish guy. Not sure about this pick.
  20. Sparring Partner (98), King’s Defender (64), Secretkeeper (22) – More 2-drops needed here. Sparring Partner is pretty good as a card.
  21. Ship’s Cannon (74), Lance Carrier (54), Ogre Magi (42) – Filling out the 2-drops, plus synergy with the Deckhand.
  22. Novice Engineer (49), Stonetusk Boar (49), Explosive Sheep (40) – I don’t really see the point in ever drafting Stonetusk Boar unless you’re a class that has health buffs. Getting some card draw with the first minion that taught you how to draw.
  23. Haunted Creeper (88), Kor’kron Elite (65), Amani Berserker (77) – All good cards again, but taking a premium 2.
  24. Orgrimmar Aspirant (108), Piloted Shredder (78), Reckless Rocketeer (44) – In normal circumstances, Piloted Shredder is the pick. But in a deck with 5 weapons, the Orgrimmar Aspirant is a great pick. I honestly don’t know how to use the card though, and may make mistakes.
  25. Alexstraza’s Champion (88), Saboteur (80), Revenge (53) – I’ve got 2 dragons for some trigger synergy here. I also really like 2/3 2-drops.
  26. Crowd Favorite (64), Garrison Commander (51), Doomsayer (22) – I have plenty of battlecries here to help make Crowd Favorite a decent card. The warrior hero power is not good enough to warrant Garrison Commander.
  27. Argent Commander (75), Crazed Alchemist (52), Commanding Shout (72) – Argent Commander has crappy stats, but the shield + charge removal makes it what it is as a premium card.
  28. Clockwork Gnome (69), Dragonkin Sorcerer (60), Wisp (14) – At this point, I’m going with a faster pick.
  29. Spectral Knight (53), Shield Block (33), Raid Leader (45) – We don’t need no armor.
  30. Siege Engine (59), Sunfury Protector (66), Jeeves (50) – Sunfury is the better value pick, but I feel like I needed another big threat.

Gameplan

  • Somehow survive and break-even. I have to play faster with my board and remove things with my armory of axes.
I've gotta admit it's fun winning a game with cards you never play. Arena!
I’ve gotta admit it’s fun winning a game with cards you never play. Arena!

Games

  1. Priest – 1st – 1-0 – Unfortunately, I forgot to turn on the Hearthstone Deck Tracker, and I do not know exactly what happened in this game. All I know is it was an easy win. Also, I have tied my previous Warrior Arena runs in the past year!
  2. Paladin – Coin – 2-0 – I was able to take the board early thanks to weapons and Knife Juggler having good RNG. My opponent quit by turn 7, making it a quickie 3-minute match.
  3. Priest – Coin – 3-0 – I was down life for most of this game, but as someone (Trump, I think) once said, life is only a resource in Hearthstone. Thanks to endless trading, and Siege Engine (MVP), I got my opponent to topdeck and I was able to win.
  4. Rogue – Coin – 4-0 – Rogue, Coin, Warrior? I should lose by Turn 6. Don’t know what to say. I kept constant pressure in this game, which resulted in my opponent steadily losing life. Knife Juggler came up big again, especially throwing knives with Haunted Creeper.
  5. Mage – 1st – 5-0 – By now, I feel weird that this deck is where it is. My gazillion axes came up big in this game by helping me clear the board and build mine. I tried to prepare a Frothing Berserker, but it was foiled by an Arcane Golem.
  6. Druid – 1st – 6-0 – This game was a paragon for how this deck works. Make a bunch of taunts and hit things with weapons. Except my opponent played a Fel Reaver to face said wall of taunts on Turn 5. I wound up going face the whole time and putting up taunts, while milling a whole deck.
  7. Warlock – Coin – 6-1 – I faced a golden Warlock, and it was likely the most competitive game in this arena run. I made a big misplay, dropping Silver Hand Knight + Squire, and then triggering my Death’s Bite whirlwind (led to Darkbomb). I also had a cool Orgrimmar Aspirant moment to kill a Fen Creeper in one shot. I eventually lost to a damn Stormpike Commando.
  8. Paladin – 1st – 6-2 – A complete laugher. I got into trouble early thanks to Avenge, and yeah good Paladin decks don’t make things close.
  9. Mage – Coin – 6-3 – A game that showed having too many axes could be a bad thing, as it clogged up my hand. I made good moves to counter being down, but got cleaned up by 2 Krakens.
I've invented a new card that is like Annoy-o-Tron but with flipped stats. #Powercreep
I’ve invented a new card that is like Annoy-o-Tron but with flipped stats. #Powercreep

Upshot

  • Hey 6-3 Warrior run! That’s probably the best since Naxx or Classic.
  • There was a very distinct wall. 6 easy wins and then 3 not-so-close losses.
  • Having a lot of axes is good, but I had 1 or 2 too many in this game.
  • Taunts are good! And I had no Bolster
  • Garrosh don’t need no armor.
Leave a Reply

