Dream Deferred

About 2 hours ago, I drafted an arena deck on Hearthstone. I had already chosen Valeera the day before and I got to drafting. I drafted a deck that was as consistent as a constructed deck as possible. I mean seriously, look at this.

I'm still on my high horse! I skipped 2 Backstabs.
I’m still on my high horse! I skipped 2 Backstabs.

Yeah, no Blade Flurry or SI:7 Agents, but there is plenty of removal, combo minions and overall, high quality cards. Even a Violet Teacher. What could go wrong?

Well, I started 0-2 off the bat. Not expecting much, I played on, sipping my poison of Hope French Organic Vodka ($11.99 USD) and lemon juice. I somehow kept going…

Heart of the Cards won't save you here...
Heart of the Cards won’t save you here…
No, I don't come here often.
No, I don’t come here often.

11 straight wins. I’ve gotten 12 wins 3 times before, so it is relatively uncommon territory for me to be in. I got ready and faced a Shaman as my final boss. It was an even match that could have gone either way. I was short minions, but had some spells in hand. I played Mad Bomber, Defender of Argus, and then…

Where did the green outlines go?! Please come back green outlines around minions!!!
Where did the green outlines go?! Please come back green outlines around minions!!!

Aw piss. Ironic that the two cards in my hand at the time of disconnect were Betrayal and Backstab. I got betrayed and backstabbed by my internet connection!

My Bnet client was disconnected, and I tried to reconnect in vain…

This is worse than some asshat guy who emotes
This is worse than some asshat guy who emotes “Thanks” emotes every turn!

Goddammit!

I card I always wanted for fun purposes I guess.
A card I always wanted for fun purposes. I guess.

Blizzard may have detected that I lost my potential 12 win game on disconnect and given me a pity legendary. I will never know. The worst part is that I didn’t even know if I was going to win that game. It was too early, and nobody had a clear advantage at that point. What a travesty.

One thought on “Dream Deferred

Leave a Reply

