Victory for Sylvanas! 12-Win Rogue

I’ve had a long streak of subpar arena runs. Coupled with the fact that I do not have enough gold to play League of Explorers week-to-week, Arena runs have not become a daily thing for me nowadays. Also, I have become rather unorganized, now that I stopped using HearthArena. I decided to play Arena the night before, and finally got a Rogue again.

Also because I stopped using HearthArena, I should’ve kept track of my draft when I drafted…

If you could see the decklist, you would see that there isn’t really a bad card drafted, besides Recruiter. As evidenced by the deck curve, I tend to pick a ton of 2-drops and 5-drops. I have noticed that my best decks tend to have very little 4-drops. This is something that I have to monitor going forward while playing Rogue.

This deck has elements of aggro-control, or is just flat out aggro.

Games

  1. Rogue – 1st – 1-0 – I used my dagger a ton, and with help of Goblin Auto-Barber and Argent Horserider, took the board. Ice Rager actually served the finisher, forcing a concede by Turn 7.
  2. Shaman – 1st – 2-0 – Despite being named “SpdyGonzales”, my opponent played really slow, and my aggro deck took advantage of that. This game did feature the first Rumbling Elemental seen, and also featured Ancient Shade. I curved out well and transitioned to my big drops to force a concede in Turn 8.
  3. Paladin – 1st – 3-0 – A rather competitive 11-turn game that ended in a 13-0 health score. We were in a top deck war in the end, to which my Eviscerate had just enough to win. Paladin played 2 U da man’s (Keeper of Uldaman), but I had nothing to big for it to downsize. Ice Rager did work again, this time, reversed into a 2/5 to help board control.
  4. Mage – Coin – 3-1 – A game against a pseudo Freeze Mage. I had control early but then tried to be a face Hunter and lost due to a variety of Mage tools. In fairness, I was running out of cards and didn’t think it would be wise to trade, at that point.
  5. Mage – 1st – 4-1 – This game went into Turn 8 and wasn’t really close at all. I got a Dark Wispers from a Spellslinger and used it on my Stranglehorn Tiger to make Tony the Tiger (who hits for 10).
  6. Druid – Coin – 5-1 – This one went into Turn 11, but also wasn’t particularly competitive. My opponent had a really bad draw (played empty Defender of Argus). Bomb Lobber helped seal the deal.
  7. Paladin – 1st – 6-1 – Now this was an arena game. 13 Turns against a legend Paladin. We had virtually the same Turn 1 and Turn 3’s and used our weapons handily to contest the board. In Turn 7, I used Assassinate on a 5/2 Silent Knight, in order to protect a 5/5 Clockwork Knight I had. But my opponent had more answers (Guardian of Kings). I took a lot of damage just by hitting big minions towards the end. Eventually I traded Sylvanas into a 5/2 Jeweled Scarab to steal a 3/5 Refreshment Vendor. This minion swing was big in the end, as we were both low on cards.
  8. Shaman – Coin – 6-2 – The longest game in the run (14 turns). I had my opponent down to 1 Life in Turn 10, and then I lose a Healing Wave joust. I dealt with a Force-Tank Max and Totem Golem with the help of Betrayal, but then I got rushed down my totems thanks to an unsuspected Bloodlust.
  9. Mage – 1st – 7-2 – This guy was focused on keeping me on freeze-lock and did not focus on the board. They did play Ethreal Conjurer, which got them a Flamestrike! Clockwork Knight did well, buffing a Spider Tank to 4/5, to survive the Flamestrike.
  10. Paladin – Coin – 8-2 – I don’t know if I can blame the influence of alcohol at this point, but I played a horrendous game. The first misplay was at Turn 4, when I forgot to hit into a 2/2 minion, before clearing with Fan of Knives. This allowed an obvious Avenge to trigger, causing me to take 3 extra damage, and lose my only minion on the board. Misplay 2 occurred in Turn 9, when I played Undercity Valiant before Coliseum Manager, which prevented a combo trigger to clear a 1/1, in turn causing a Venture Co. Mercenary to hit me in the face. Misplay 3, was I should’ve clearly used Assassinate on the Venture Co. Mercenary. In this game, I did use Assassinate on an Acolyte of Pain, which was good in locking down a top-deck Paladin.
  11. Druid – 1st – 9-2 – I consistently had answers for my opponent and took the board, despite his/her playing really big things (Sunwalker, Volcanic Lumberer). My closing 5/4, 5/5, 5/6 board was just enough for lethal.
  12. Rogue – Coin – 10-2 – Here begins 3 straight coin games against classes I do the worst against. Recipe for disaster! This began as a mirror match: dagger, GAB, kill GAB. Opponent played 2 Eviscerates early, but I held on for dear life. Clockwork Knight kept a Yeti alive, which was big. My opponent played an Assassin’s Blade and used Tinker’s Oil, but I just had minions while he/she did not.
  13. Mage – Coin – 11-2 – Clockwork Knight was clutch again, allowing a Yeti to kill a Sludge Belcher while Valeera was frozen. I just hit in the face a few times and stared lethal with 2 6/6’s and 10 health. But I got bailed out with Betrayal, and eventually took the board and the game.
  14. Rogue – Coin – 12-2 – At this point I was hyped, having reached the final boss (this is what happened last time). But this game was a downer, which resulted in a Turn 8 concede. Ice Rager helped seal the deal at the end.

Notes

  • Dang! I should’ve recorded these games and put them on my YouTube.
  • I really didn’t expect anything from this. Has the quality of Hearthstone Arena players declined?
  • I’m not a fan of this new WordPress layout.
2 thoughts on “Victory for Sylvanas! 12-Win Rogue

Leave a Reply

