Yesterday, I was nominated for The Liebster Award, an award given by bloggers for bloggers. I am extremely humbled for this recognition. The nomination was sent by Particlebit, who does an awesome job himself writing about all things games, and very cool game reviews.

The basic rules of the Liebster Award is to mention the award and blogger who nominated you, and to propagate the award to other bloggers and post questions for them to answer. Unfortunately, my blogging network is actually quite small, as I haven’t done too much exploring on the blogosphere. Also most of my interactions with my gaming persona are through Twitter. Thus, this post will just be responses to the Liebster Award questions from Partclebit. Maybe I’ll have a bigger blogging network someday!

  • Favorite video game console?
    • Most of the gaming in my life has been done through computer, but my favorite console is definitely PS1. PS1 was the first console I ever owned, so there’s that. A really memorable game series I played on PS1 was Syphon Filter 1-3. Final Fantasy VII – IX were also played at various times on PS1.
  • Favorite game on LEAST favorite console?
    • This is a tough one, as I have only ever owned a couple of consoles ever, so it would be definitely a game I played with a friend at some time. I’ll go with Super Smash Bros Melee on Gamecube, being my least favorite console. Melee was a super fun game that I played quite a bit in high school and college. I’m sure there are plenty of great games on Gamecube, but I had to nominate a random console I don’t really like! Maybe I don’t like the way Gamecube looks? I don’t know.
  • What was the last movie you saw in theaters?
    • I just saw Warcraft last weekend.
  • How long have you been blogging?
    • My first blog was through Xanga, which was done when I was a freshman or sophomore in high school, so about 12 or 13 years ago. I’ve taken breaks now and then from blogging.
  • Why did you start blogging?
    • I originally started blogging just to start an online diary on my daily life, and to provide my views on current events, politics, etc. This blog is the first one where I actually have a true focus (Hearthstone), and I did it to successfully fill a void in my life. I really wanted to talk about Hearthstone!
  • Who is your favorite Pokemon?
    • I’m loyal to the original 151, as those are the ones I know by heart. I’ll go with Gengar, who always has a grin on his face and just looks like big, spiky, badass, purple ghost.hqdefault.jpg
  • How big is your gaming backlog at the moment?
    • I devote an hour or two to Hearthstone every day. I am also currently juggling games Heroes of the Storm, Borderlands 2, and Duelyst.
  • What are you doing when aren’t playing a game or working?
    • I honestly don’t have too many hobbies or am very tired from work. I do enjoy working out at the gym and watching tv. I am also working on a book, something I have worked on sporadically for at least 2 years. I also have a very strong interest for baseball, especially in sabermetrics. I spend a bit of time watching baseball on tv or online, or just like reading analysis posts.
  • What is one interesting, unique fact about yourself most people don’t know?
    • I don’t listen to her music, but I share a birthday with Taylor Swift (12/13/89).
  • Eat pizza with your hands or with a fork?
    • I’m from New Jersey, where pizza is exclusively eaten with hands. Also, a lunchlady in elementary school drilled it in our heads once, saying “this is America, you eat pizza with your hands!” I can see value in eating deep dish pizzas with utensils.
download.jpg
“Fortunately, pizza exists!”

 

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award – Responses

  1. Really enjoyed your responses! I am also partial to Gengar, especially in the Gold/Silver days. You mentioned sabremetrics – have you been interested at all in DePodesta working with the Browns? Also, how’d you like the new Warcraft movie? Planning to see it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Analytics in baseball is oversaturated at this point, but will be an emerging thing for football. Interesting that Cleveland is at it again, as the Indians were one of the first for baseball. Football is complicated because raw physical skills seem much more important than in baseball, and all the emphasis on the combine. Hopefully they come up with new insights for football.

      I actually enjoyed the Warcraft movie without being amazed by it. I can understand some of the critics points about certain things being hard to understand, but for us gamers, it is pretty satisfying.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

