Reno Jackson was a revolutionary card from the moment it was revealed in BlizzCon 2015, one week before it’s release. The card simply turned games around against needlessly oppressive Face Hunters, forcing concedes right away.  The feeling of playing a topdecked Reno on Turn 6 which 3 health left was an inexorable high. Reno also was the first “Highlander” card in Hearthstone, creating a new take on deck building, which focused on less consistency and more variation.

Hearthstone Screenshot 11-15-15 10.18.18
Reno plays

If you roam Hearthstone Reddit now and then, you’ll see posts like the one below, which beg of Reno Jackson being excused from the Standard rotation.

reno-reddit

That hope was finally quashed today in the cyberhighway route known as Twitter:

brode reno.PNG

While this news was not unexpected, given the rules of Standard rotation, it nullifies any possible leniency for Reno, and possibly any other card rotating out. While Ben Brode mentions keeping the meta fresh as the motivation for not sparing Reno Jackson, I think this is great news for a completely different reason. I believe Reno Jackson completely undermines the skill of deckbuilding.

My Reno Rogue Story

I was pretty excited when Reno Jackson came out, as I was fairly tired of Face Hunter. I decided to build a Reno deck with my eternally bae class, Rogue. I’m not a person with good deckbuilding skills at all, so I just threw together a bunch of cards I had in my collection. I took various things like curve, and card advantage in consideration, but mostly focused on high-value greed.

renorgoue.png

This Reno Rogue deck became my go-to Ranked deck for a few months, and I was able to achieve a high of Rank 6 at the time.

renoroguestats.PNG

Overall, the stats with this particular version of the deck won over 57% of the games, which is higher than that of my current try-hard season with Miracle Rogue (56%). While Mage and Paladin were still bugaboos, the deck did fairly well against every other class and deck. The stats showed that I was above 50% against every class as well. I had achieved success with a deck I built with very little skill or thought. Further, I didn’t have to go through the process of relentless iterations and testing to revise the deck.

A World Without Reno

Reno Jackson was a very fun and useful card, and a lot of people are going to be upset of his rotating out. This news might even be devastating enough to make a bunch of people quit the game. Further, this seems like big news now, given competitive Hearthstone decks typically run the aggressive Pirate package or Reno. The entire Kabal (Warlock, Mage, Priest) heavily rely on Reno currently.

Aside from the cons of Reno dropping out of the Standard, I believe that decks should not be continually be rewarded by lazy deckbuilding. Also, all those other reasons about keeping the meta fresh and whatnot. At least we’ll always have this gif.

UM5MOIL - Imgur

 

Leave a Reply

